Apple Crumble Slice

So I’m guessing everyone knows that classic jam slice that has a layer of raspberry jam sandwiched between a layer of biscuit-type thing and layer of coconutty-stuff? Exactly, you know what I’m talking about! Yeah, well as a (unqualified) food snob, I always wrote that recipe off as rubbish – well, not rubbish, but just not worth my while. I mean, how good could it really be, it’s got jam in it, they’re not even real raspberries! It’s boring and simple (wow, I am a snob).

Oh but how wrong could I be? Apparently, very, very wrong. I made it a few times, with some disdain, only by request, and eventually actually ate some of it – my goodness it was good! I couldn’t quite believe how good it was (my mother can attest to this – I think I looked shocked and just said “wow” over and over for about 5 minutes, then proceeded to keep eating more of it!).

Now, I think the key to making it really good is in the ratio of the layers and the quality of jam, but nevertheless, it’s a brilliant creation! So, obviously, I wanted to bake it again, and I did. But I also wanted to reinvent it. I wanted to see what else you could do with such an impressive, easy slice.

Now, you might be aware that I have a constant supply of apples in my house at the moment – what can I say, I love free things! So the obvious choice was an apple slice. From there the idea grew until I had basically created a slice version of apple crumble. I’m pretty happy with it. But to tell the truth, as a (somewhat proud) perfectionist, I need to keep improving it!! But here’s the basic recipe:

 

Apple Crumble Slice

 

Ingredients

3 green apples, peeled, cored and sliced

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp brown sugar

3 tsp cinnamon

90g butter

1/2 cup caster sugar

egg

1/3 cup self-raising flour

2/3 cup plain flour

egg, lightly beaten

60g butter, melted

1/3 cup caster sugar

1 1/2 cups coconut

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup chopped roasted almonds

2 tsp cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160C fan-forced and line a rectangular slice tin, about 20cm x 30cm.
  2. Start with the apples – place sliced apples into a small pan with the water and brown sugar. Cook over low heat, stirring occasionally until the apples are very soft.
  3. Add cinnamon and stir vigorously to break up the apples. Set aside to cool.
  4. Beat butter, sugar and egg in an electric mixer until combined. Add flours and mix on lowest speed until combined.
  5. Spread the mixture over the base the tin and bake for 10 minutes. The slice will still be blond at this point, not too brown.
  6. As the slice cooks, make the topping by combining the egg, butter, caster sugar, coconut, oats, almonds and cinnamon in a bowl and mix well.
  7. Remove the tin from the oven and spread the base with jam. Now add the topping as evenly as you can.
  8. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until browned on top. Remove from the oven and cool in  the tin before removing to cool completely.

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Apple Crumble Slice

Leave a Reply

