Verjuice & Olive Oil Ice Cream

If you know anything about Maggie Beer, you know that she’s a little partial to verjuice. And by a little partial I mean she has basically set her culinary world to revolve around it! If you look through one of her recipe books, you’ll quickly realise what I mean – nary a recipe in sight without verjuice in it.

I’m still not sure what I think about verjuice. It’s certainly different and very tasty, but it’s also rare and expensive – two things I am certainly not partial to.

I think if you’re a keen bean, then it’s well worth getting a bottle or two and seeing what you can do with it (because it is terrifically diverse). But otherwise, I think for the most part, unless it’s a key ingredient it’s often overshadowed by other, stronger flavours, and therefore a bit of a waste of time, I think.

This recipe however, is one of few where verjuice really does stand out and it gives you a very unique flavour. As does the olive oil. Believe me when I say that I’m not one for weird ice cream flavours. I remember the first time someone told me about garlic ice cream, and still to this day I make the same facial expression when I think about it. And it’s not pretty: it’s like my body is recoiling and my face is doing everything it can to tell you this. That’s how I feel about weird ice cream flavours. Well, particularly weird ice cream flavours; more to the point, savoury ice cream flavours! Savoury ice cream?! (Life is full of enough disappointments, Gary!)

Thankfully, despite the olive oil, this is actually a sweet ice cream! You can thank the verjuice for that. But really, it’s different and strange and overall, it’s definitely an experience! So give it a go and see what happens – it’s pretty fun!

Verjuice and Olive Oil Ice Cream

Ingredients

100ml water
200g castor sugar
200ml Verjuice
4 egg yolks
zest of 1/2 lemon
pinch sea salt
200ml good quality extra virgin olive oil

Method

  1. Place sugar and water in a small saucepan over high heat and heat for a few seconds until the sugar dissolves. Then bring to the boil and boil for about 30 seconds.
  2. Remove from the heat and place in an unlined baking tin and place in the fridge for a few minutes to cool down.
  3. Place verjuice, egg yolks, salt and lemon zest in a blender or food processor. As soon as you turn it on, trickle the oil in a very thin stream – don’t rush otherwise it will curdle.
  4. Once combined, add the cooled sugar syrup in the same fashion, being very patient!!
  5. Place in a shallow dish and place in freezer until cold. Then remove from the freezer and churn in an ice cream churner for 30-40 minutes until you like the consistency, then freeze as it will still be very runny. If you don’t have a churner, don’t stress. Just leave it in the freezer in the dish and remove it every 2 hours, break it all up and stir it around, then return to the freezer and repeat.
  6. I served it with raspberries, but a raspberry coulis with lemon or lime would work really nicely – something to break through the richness and intensity!

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Verjuice & Olive Oil Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

