Gingernuts

Whenever I hear someone say gingernuts, I can’t help but think of that scene in Hot Fuzz where the crazy cult-leader is facing off against Simon Pegg in the model village, and has taken hostage a 10 year-old red-headed boy called Aaron Aaronson. He grips the kid a bit tighter, pulls a gun and says, “stay back, or the gingernut gets it!”.

Stay back! Or the ginger nut gets it!

Despite this, gingernuts are brilliant biscuits. And yes, I mean biscuits, not cookies. Although, if you want to get technical, I suppose it could be either, and personally I think cookies sound nicer than biscuits, but I hear a few people who know my well gasping from my lack of Anglophilia, so I’ll stop now… I wouldn’t want to shock anyone!

Anywho, this recipe is adapted from a lovely little book Bluebells Cakery. It’s a pretty little book that I picked up from the library, basically because it’s pretty and that’s all. Yes, I realise that might seem a little ridiculous, but there you have it. At least I’m aware of it, right?

Back to gingernuts…I think ginger is often one of those foods that divides people: there are the ginger lovers (ginger nuts, if you will), and the ginger-actually-makes-me-gag people. I think I used to be the latter, but thank goodness, I am now the former. Sweet, savoury, I love it – although not raw, that’s too far.

My point though, is that I think people are immediately put off eating anything with ginger in the title unless they are real ginger nuts, because as a strong flavour, people tend to assume the worst of anything ginger-titled and steer clear out of sanity slash self-preservation. And I must say, I do understand this: as a former ginger-makes-me-gag-er, I can fully sympathise with the fear that that lovely-looking baked thing might possible contain a large amount of ginger, sitting, waiting to catch me out and ruin my experience of said baked good.

But I think you should try these! Yes, they have ginger in them. Yes, I can understand that you may not like ginger. But maybe that’s because you’ve never eaten it in a way that you like – who knows, you may be pleasantly surprised by these little beauties! And if you’re really not keen, omit the crystallised ginger and see how you go!

 

 

Gingernuts

Ingredients

225g plain flour

1 tsp bi carb soda

3 tsp ground cinnamon

4 tsp ground ginger

85g caster sugar

125g unsalted butter

100g golden syrup

1/3 cup crystallised or uncrystallised ginger (ie. not fresh ginger!), roughly chopped

1/4 cup extra caster sugar for rolling

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C, fan-forced and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine flour, bi carb, cinnamon, ginger and sugar in a large bowl.
  3. Melt butter and golden syrup in a small saucepan. Add ginger to warm.
  4. Pour the butter mixture into the flour mixture and combine thoroughly.
  5. Place extra caster sugar in a small bowl and roll tablespoonfuls of dough together, then roll in the extra caster sugar.
  6. Place on trays about 3cm apart. No need to flatten.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely.

Notes

Ginger: I used uncrystallised ginger from Aldi – it comes in a small plastic bag with the other dried fruit

Cooking time: Keep an eye on them – the bi carb means they’re likely to brown quickly and you don’t want them to burn!

Storage: Store in an airtight container for about 5 days. They will soften over time.

Best enjoyed… fresh with a cup of tea!

 

3 thoughts on “Gingernuts

Leave a Reply

